
A Quick Reference to Protected Leaves in California 
 

 
This reference guide provides general information only. Always consult with your department’s Human Resources 
representative when protected leave questions arise. 
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Family Medical 
Leave Act (FMLA) 
 

What it Provides: 
Up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave with benefits, within a rolling 12-
month period. Supporting documentation is required. CFRA or PDL leave will be 
used concurrently when applicable. 
 
Qualifying Reasons for Leave: 

• Employee is experiencing a serious health condition that requires inpatient 
care or continuing treatment from a qualifying health care provider. 

• Employee requires time off to care for their spouse, parent, or child who is 
experiencing a serious health condition which requires inpatient care or 
continuing treatment from a qualifying health care provider. 

• Employee requests to bond with their newborn child or a newly placed 
child through adoption or foster care. 

• A qualifying exigency arising from an employee’s spouse, parent, or child 
being called to or currently on covered active military duty. 

• Employee requires time off to care for their spouse, parent, child, or next 
of kin who is a covered military servicemember and who has incurred a 
serious health condition in the line of duty, rendering them unfit to perform 
their duties. 

o Military caregiver leave provides employees up to 26 weeks of 
unpaid, job-protected leave in a rolling 12-month period. 
 

Digital Flyer: Family and Medical Leave Act 

California Family 
Right Act (CFRA) 
 

What it Provides: 
Up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave with benefits, within a rolling 12-
month period. CFRA and FMLA leave will be used concurrently when applicable. 
Supporting documentation is required. 
 
Qualifying Reasons for Leave: 

• Employee has a serious health condition that requires inpatient care or 
continuing treatment from a qualifying health care provider. Pregnancy is 
excluded (see PDL below). 

• Employee needs time off to care for their spouse, registered domestic 
partner, parent, grandparent, child, grandchild, sibling, or designated 
person with a serious health condition which requires inpatient care or 
continuing treatment from a qualifying health care provider. An employee’s 
designated person is limited to one selection per rolling 12-month period. 

• Bonding with employee’s newborn child or a newly placed child through 
adoption or foster care. 

o Bonding leave must be used within the first year of the child’s birth 
or placement and is generally taken in two-week increments, with 
two instances permitted for shorter durations. 

• A qualifying exigency arising from an employee’s spouse, parent, or child 
who is called to or currently on covered active military duty. 

 
Digital Flyer: California Family Rights Act 
Digital Flyer: California Family Rights Act - Expanded 

 

  

https://www.fresnocountyca.gov/files/assets/county/v/1/human-resources/employee-benefits/loa-documents/employee-rights-under-the-family-and-medical-leave-act.pdf
https://www.fresnocountyca.gov/files/assets/county/v/1/human-resources/employee-benefits/loa-documents/fact-sheet-ca-family-care-and-medical-leave.pdf
https://www.fresnocountyca.gov/files/assets/county/v/1/human-resources/employee-benefits/loa-documents/expanded-family-and-medical-leave-in-ca.pdf
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California 
Pregnancy Disability 
Leave (PDL) 

 

What it Provides: 
Up to four months of unpaid, job-protected leave with benefits, per pregnancy 
(pre-, peri-, and postnatal). PDL and FMLA will be used concurrently when 
applicable. Supporting documentation is required. 
 
Qualifying Reasons for Leave: 
Periods of time when an employee is disabled because of pregnancy. 
 
Digital Flyer: Pregnancy Disability Leave 

Bereavement Leave 
 

What it Provides: 
Up to five days of job-protected, unpaid leave and 24 hours (12 hours if working 
less than 32 hours/week) of paid leave per event. Protected and paid leave are 
used concurrently until one is exhausted. Extra-help employees are not eligible to 
receive pay for this leave. This type of leave is separate and distinct from CFRA 
and Reproductive Loss Leave. Supporting documentation may be required. 
 
Qualifying Reasons for Leave: 
Death of an employee’s spouse, parent, grandparent, child, grandchild, or sibling, 
including spousal and step-equivalents. Leave must be used within six months of 
the qualifying relative’s death. 
 
Digital Flyer (Protection): Bereavement Leave 
MOU Pay Provisions: Fresno County Memoranda of Understanding 

Reproductive Loss 
Leave 

 

 

What it Provides: 
Up to five days of unpaid, job-protected leave per event, with a maximum of 20 
days per calendar year for multiple events. Supporting medical documentation is 
not required. This type of leave is separate and distinct from CFRA and 
Bereavement Leave. 
 
Qualifying Reasons for Leave: 
Employee (available to both parents) experienced a reproductive loss event 
defined as a failed adoption, failed surrogacy, miscarriage, stillbirth, or 
unsuccessful assisted reproduction. Leave must be used within three months of 
the event, or the end of any other protected leave being used. 
 
Digital Flyer: Reproductive Loss Leave  

School Appearance 
Leave 

 

What it Provides: 
Unpaid, job-protected leave to attend school appointments in connection with a 
child’s suspension. Reasonable advanced notice is required. 
 
Qualifying Reasons for Leave: 
Employee is a parent or guardian of a child who has been suspended and is 
required to appear at school because of this suspension. 
 
Digital Link: School Suspensions 

 
 
 
  

https://www.fresnocountyca.gov/files/assets/county/v/1/human-resources/employee-benefits/loa-documents/fact-sheet-pregnancy-disability-leave.pdf
https://www.fresnocountyca.gov/files/assets/county/v/1/human-resources/employee-benefits/loa-documents/faq-bereavement-leave-ab-1949.pdf
https://www.fresnocountyca.gov/Departments/Human-Resources/Labor-Relations/Memoranda-of-Understanding
https://www.fresnocountyca.gov/files/assets/county/v/1/human-resources/employee-benefits/loa-documents/reproductive-loss-leave.pdf
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=230.7.&nodeTreePath=3.1.1.1&lawCode=LAB
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Family School 
Partnership Act 
(FSPA) 

What it Provides: 
Up to 40 hours (no more than eight hours per month) per calendar year of unpaid, 
job-protected leave. Reasonable notice may be required unless a qualifying 
emergency exists. Immediate notice is required for emergencies. Supporting 
documentation may be required.  
 
Qualifying Reasons for Leave: 
Employee is a parent, guardian, or grandparent of a child in grades K-12, and: 

• must find, enroll, or reenroll their child in school or with a licensed child-
care provider. 

• wishes to attend their child’s school or licensed daycare activity. 
• must address a child-care provider or school emergency causing the 

student to be removed due to: 
 School or child-care provider requests the employee’s child 

be picked up or the child is prohibited from attending due to 
child-care provider policy. 

 Behavioral or disciplinary problems. 
 Closure or unexpected unavailability, excluding holidays. 
 Natural disaster such as fire, earthquake, or flood. 

 
Digital Link: Family School Partnership Act 

Jury Duty or 
Witness Leave 
 

What it Provides: 
Paid job-protected leave when summoned to appear in court or before a Grandy 
Jury as specified. Extra-help employees are not eligible to receive pay for this 
leave. 
 
Qualifying Reasons for Leave: 
Employee is summoned as a juror, a witness in a criminal case, a witness in a 
civil case related to course of their county employment, or as a party to an action 
arising out of the course of their county employment. 
 
Reference to Salary Resolution Section 513: Fresno County Salary Resolution 

Time Off to Vote 
 
 

What it Provides: 
Up to two (2) hours of paid leave to vote in statewide elections (when qualified). 
 
Qualifying Reasons for Leave: 
Employee must have insufficient time to vote outside of their working hours. 
Because Fresno County operates under the Voter’s Choice Act, which provides 
29 available voting days, it is unlikely that an employee will qualify for this type of 
leave when voting within Fresno County. 
 
Digital Link: Time Off to Vote 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
  

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=230.8.&nodeTreePath=3.1.1.1&lawCode=LAB
https://www.fresnocountyca.gov/files/sharedassets/county/v/7/human-resources/references/salary-resolution-updated-as-of-02.19.24.pdf
https://elections.cdn.sos.ca.gov/pdfs/tov-english.pdf
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Crime Victim and 
Domestic Violence 
Leave 

 

 

What it Provides: 
Unpaid, job-protected leave to seek care or attend specific activities resulting 
from a crime in which the employee or their qualifying family member was a 
victim. Reasonable notice and/or supporting documentation may be required.  
 
Qualifying Reasons for Leave: 

• Employee or their immediate family member (spouse, registered domestic 
partner, parent, child, or sibling) is required to attend judicial proceedings 
related to a violent felony, serious felony, or felony theft or embezzlement. 

• Employee or their immediate family member (spouse, registered domestic 
partner, parent, child, or sibling) must appear in court for any proceeding 
where the victim’s rights are at stake. Covered offenses include: vehicular 
manslaughter while intoxicated, felony child abuse likely to produce great 
bodily harm or a death, assault resulting in the death of a child under eight 
years of age, felony domestic violence, felony physical abuse of an elder 
or dependent adult, felony stalking, solicitation for murder, a serious 
felony, such as kidnapping, rape or assault, hit-and-run causing death or 
injury, felony driving under the influence causing injury, and specified 
sexual assault. 

• Employee was a victim of stalking, domestic violence, sexual assault, or a 
crime that caused physical or mental injury or threat to physical injury, and 
is seeking legal relief, medical attention, services from a domestic 
violence shelter or program, psychological counseling, or mental health 
services, or is participating in safety planning or other action to increase 
their safety from future crime or abuse. 
 

Digital Flyer: Victims of Domestic Violence Leave Notice (ca.gov) 
Digital Link: Crime Victim Leave 

Organ and Bone 
Marrow Donor Leave 

 

 

What it Provides: 
Organ Donors: 

• Up to six weeks (240 hours for full-time employees) of paid job-protected 
leave with benefits. 

• Up to six additional weeks of unpaid job-protected protected leave with 
benefits. 

• An employee must utilize their own leave bank for the first two weeks of 
leave unless their leave bank is fully exhausted. 

Bone Marrow Donors: 
• Up to one (1) week of paid job-protected leave with benefits. 
• An employee must utilize their own leave bank unless their leave bank is 

fully exhausted. 
 
Both leave provisions are confined to a rolling 12-month period. Supporting 
documentation is required. This leave provision is separate and distinct from 
FMLA and CFRA leave. Extra-help employees are not eligible for these leave 
provisions. 
 
Qualifying Reasons for Leave: 
An employee is a documented organ or bone marrow donor and requires leave to 
donate their organ or bone marrow to another person for medical necessity. 
 
Digital Link: Organ and Bone Marrow Donation 

  

https://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/Victims_of_Domestic_Violence_Leave_Notice.pdf
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=LAB&sectionNum=230.
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=1510&lawCode=LAB


HR – Employee Benefits Page 6 of 6 Created: 10/2024 

Volunteer Civil 
Service Leave 
 
 

What it Provides: 
Unpaid, job-protected leave to perform emergency civil service duties when 
required and up to 14 days of unpaid, job protected leave to participate in specific 
civil service response trainings. Employees in public safety and/or emergency 
medical service positions may be exempt from this leave provision. 
 
Qualifying Reasons for Leave: 
An employee is a volunteer firefighter, reserve peace officer, or emergency 
rescue personnel or is a member of a disaster medical response team sponsored 
by the state and: 

• Is required to perform emergency duty. 
• Must engage in fire, law enforcement, or emergency rescue training. 

 
Note: Employees who are health care providers are required to notify their 
department when they are designated as emergency rescue personnel and when 
they learn they will be deployed for emergency duty. 
 
Digital Link: Volunteer Civil Service Leave 

Links to Other 
Protected Leaves 
 
 

Military Service Leave: 
• Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act 

(USERRA) 
• California Military and Veterans Code - Sections 395.01 - 395.05 

 
Reasonable Accommodations: 

• Americans with Disabilities Act 
• Fair Employment and Housing Act 
• Pregnant Workers Fairness Act 
• P.U.M.P. for Nursing Mothers Act 

 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=LAB&sectionNum=230.3
https://www.fresnocountyca.gov/files/assets/county/v/1/human-resources/employee-benefits/loa-documents/employee-rights-under-userra-military-service.pdf
https://www.fresnocountyca.gov/files/assets/county/v/1/human-resources/employee-benefits/loa-documents/employee-rights-under-userra-military-service.pdf
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?division=2.&chapter=7.&part=1.&lawCode=MVC
https://askjan.org/publications/individuals/employee-guide.cfm
https://askjan.org/publications/individuals/employee-guide.cfm
https://www.fresnocountyca.gov/files/assets/county/v/1/human-resources/employee-benefits/loa-documents/employment-discrimination-based-on-disability.pdf
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/flsa/WHD_EEOC_FINAL.pdf
https://www.dol.gov/sites/dolgov/files/WHD/flsa/WHD_EEOC_FINAL.pdf
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